On the street where you live

image

I am quite certain by now that MHC has something for precognition and regression and … you know …. other such things. As well as stalkers.

OK, that sounds wrong.

But you know what I mean.

Almost all her books that I’ve read contain some elements of the above two phenomenon so I think it’s a fair assumption. And yet, after The Anastasia Syndrome all of her sixth sense-y books get me excited! I also have a thing for stories with a historical element in it so this one sounded like a real bonanza!

On The Street Where You Live is a book on a countdown. And in the 11 days the story spans it has to spook you and keep you curious. Now that I think is a tall order for a whodunit with an ever-expanding cast of characters. (And here I will admit that I hate when that happens just because having to keep up with a veritable who’s who in the middle of a murder mystery is a real pain! OK. Rant over.)

Emily Graham arrives at her beautiful new-old home at a fashionable resort town to find a dead body buried in her back yard. Actually, 2 dead bodies to be precise. Each killed the same way. The only thing that separated them was over a century of time. And that’s how it gets going.

Oh, and it would seem Emily also has a stalker.

However, more importantly, the question that consumes this small town and it’s very zealous law enforcement is ‘is there a serial killer on the loose in Spring Lake … again?’ And from my viewpoint a whole lot of people were involved in the question.

Now, I’ve read other centuries-old-body-in-my-backyard kind of stories and, I have to say, they were better. Not that the story has anything lacking. There are a whole lot of likely suspects with promisingly unsavoury pasts and plenty of goodlooking men interested in the protagonist. Oh, and of course, a stalker. What I really missed, as a reader trying to lose myself in the book, was a sense of atmosphere.

Now, I will be the first to admit to being less than enamoured of long prosy descriptions in books. And yet, infuriatingly, the complete lack of them is quite upsetting! It is not enough to say ‘a house from the 1890’s’ because I have no idea what houses looked like in the 1890’s in the US! And that becomes particularly upsetting when you bring up architecture ever so often!

So, from me, just for a sheer lack of a menacing or historical or any atmosphere, it gets a 3.

Quite upsetting.

Hey, start a conversation! We're chatty people! :)

