No Vacancy?

Whether it’s all a brilliant publicity gimmick or there’s some truth to the murky tales regarding JK Rowling that are surfacing, there’s hardly anybody who’s unaware of the release of her new book, Casual Vacancy. And this is one that’s already made the bestseller list. Whether or not its good enough remains to be seen. I, somehow, have gotten really turned off by everything I’ve heard so far.

What about you? How many of you have read or are waiting to read the book? And if you’ve read it what’s your candid opinion?


20 thoughts on “No Vacancy?

  1. I definitely want to read her new book. I thought Harry Potter was a wonderful series, and I was drawn in by her writing and her characters. I’m also trying to go into this new book without comparing it to HP; we will see if I can stick to that.

    Like

  2. I agree with you. There is so much talk about the book that I really have lost interest in it. While some describe it as a good attempt others dismiss it as not worth the time. I personally feel that maybe Rowling wanted to prove that she could write something other than HP books. However, whatever she may write, nobody is going to forget or stop comparing HP to her other works. HP was a phenomenon and there’s no getting away from something like that.

    Like

    1. That’s true. However, now that this news is out it’s easy, in retrospect, to see similar tactics being used for the promotion of HP too. Besides, while I think everybody understood that HP would be a hard act to follow I hope Casual Vacancy wasn’t written with sole aim to not be HP. :-/ But you’re right; it’s a tough place to be in for a writer.

      Like

  3. I haven’t read it yet. There are so many books on my TBR list right now, I doubt I’ll get to it any time soon! Since I really have no idea what the book is about, it may be longer still until I get around to reading it! 🙂

    Like

  4. I haven’t heard anything good about this book. I was hoping you had read it. I dont know of anyone who has actually read it. In Costco this week end a lot of people were looking at it, but no one bought it. Including me.
    — Judi

    Like

    1. I know what you mean. There was a lot of backlash for the media gagging once the book was released. I remember one report said that after all that the reviews the book was receiving mixed reviews at best. However, I, for one, am yet to hear of even a single good one.

      Like

  5. I’ve read it. It wasn’t an easy read. It’s dark and the characters are all very flawed. There’s no ‘magic’ in this book. I would call it bleak. But having said all that, she is still an awesome writer and I’m glad I read this. (I reviewed it on my blog if you want to find out more.)

    Like

Hey, start a conversation! We're chatty people! :)

