Three Act Tragedy

Sigh…this, undoubtedly is the downside to having read nearly every Agatha Christie ever written. You go to a bookstore and rummage through shelves while sales attendants eye you askance till (yay!) you finally find a book you haven’t read before. Or so you think. Because you’ve barely reached the bottom of the first page before you’re thinking “Damn it! I’ve read this one! It was the ______”

Aha! You didn’t think I was going to tell, did you? (hehe)

When celebrated actor Sir Charles Cartwright expresses a desire to retire from the stage and move away from society to live on a remote island nobody who knows him think it’s going to last. And one house party at the “Crow’s Nest” as he calls his retreat is enough for his friends to know why. The veteran actor, with the hearts of many a woman under his belt, had fallen in love. With a girl 30 years his junior, no less! However, that’s not all that happens at that house party as the first night itself results in the death of a man. And that’s the first act of this Three Act Tragedy (Poirot)

There aren’t too many whodunits that you can re-read; especially when you have a vague albeit almost certain recollection of who done it! Three Act Tragedy, despite being a Poirot mystery is different from the many others written by Christie. Even though the book begins with yet another dinner Poirot is invited for, his actual involvement in the book doesn’t come in until close to the end. Until then Christie seems content to let the characters play pin the donkey with catching the murderer. And of course, like many other Christies, there’s a love story at the heart of the mystery. And finally, the brave doth indeed win the fair. 🙂 However, as one after another ends up in a grave it falls to Poirot to find the perpetrator.

A fun read I’d give this book a 4.

4 thoughts on “Three Act Tragedy

  1. I remember very clearly how angst set in when I realized I’d read almost all the Poirot and Miss Marple stories. Tommy and Tuppence are just not the same. I’ve reread a few and will watch any and all versions of “Murder on the Orient Express” or “Death on the Nile,” and love the David Suchet Poirot on PBS.

    That said, I think Sherlock Holmes are the only mysteries I’ve read more than twice.

    Like

    1. When I first read Sherlock as a kid I loved him with a fervour. I think I actually cried in the Final Problem and had abssolutely no problem associating with people who heckled Conan Doyle until he brought Holmes back to life. Lol.

      I think Murder on the Orient Express was my first Christie. Or was that the Blue Train? Is there even a book like that?!:-\ I think it’s time I revisited this. Tommy and Tuppence kinda grew on me. I think the most intriguing thing about them is that they are probably fiction’s only characters that actively grow and age!

      Like

Hey, start a conversation! We're chatty people! :)

