The Intruders

I had warned myself from buying any new books unless I finished all that was on my shelf. But the creepy cover of the book had my attention and there was no way I was walking out of that store without it. Not that I am very fond of creepy stuff, but I haven’t read one in a long time, so just the craving. πŸ˜›

Cassie & Joel loved the small family they had with their mom. Their dad had walked out on them when Cassie was really small. Though Joel is the younger one, he shows immense maturity and is careful of the words he chooses while Cassie is just in your face. If she doesn’t like someone/something, she is not going to even make an effort to hide it, even if it is her to-be stepdad Gerald or his sons, Damon & Tim.

It was their mom’s idea for both families to move in together before the mom-dad got married the next year. And hell had to break loose when you have Cassie lashing at everyone for having being forced to accept a new family or intruders as she terms them. While everyone seems to be trying to adjust and settle in, Joel for sure knows there is something wrong with the house. Every night he sees a little boy in his dreams (or rather a nightmare) chanting – “If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take…”.Β 

Joel is not sure if everyone is right about blaming Cassie for all the mess around the house. Or is Damon right about Cassie being able to control things through her mind, without her knowing she’s doing it? And just when Joel is trying to fight his thoughts, Damon announces about Tim having some sort of a nightmare. And the four are shocked to discover that the two boys have been having the same nightmares.

What are these visions? Who is trying to say what to them? Why just the two of them? Why isn’t anything happening when the parents are around? Who reallyΒ are the intruders?

I was hoping for a quick nap after reading the first chapter, and trust me when I say, I din’t keep the book down till I got to the end of it. It was fast-paced and every chapter had something happening making you think along with the four kids. Definitely a must read! And a 5/5 for me.

” Those who go where they’re not wanted, Don’t always get to leave”

12 thoughts on “The Intruders

  1. find her website and cyber stalk her until she sends you a copy to review lol…. only joking…. well sort of joking but you never know if you are having trouble finding if you find a way to let her know you never know what you might get

    Like

    1. Hahahaha, Paula! Now I know what I’m going to do to you to send me your books! :p Well, the trouble is actually convincing my husband to let me buy another book without finishing the existing ones :p

      Like

      1. I don’t tell my other half i just sneak them in and hide then half way down the to read pile while he isn’t looking plus now with the kindle there is no evidence unless he chcks the bank statement properly which he only does if I haven’t covered what I spent πŸ˜‰

        Like

  2. β€œIf I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take…”. eeek! That was the ending of the nightly childhood prayer I was taught to say. It always struck me as creepy even when I was too young to rebel against it!

    I like the sound of this, I love a book that you are unable to put down til the end πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yeah, that prayer IS creepy. I had goosebumps when I read it first and I was wondering how could that be a prayer! I’m sure you will enjoy it if you’re ok with reading books for the kids. πŸ™‚

      Like

Hey, start a conversation! We're chatty people! :)

