Follow me


 There’s something about the title of this book that reminds me one of my favourite tunes called … well … follow me. I think it went something like “…follow me and everything is alright … I’ll be the one to tuck you in at night and if you … wanna leave I can guarantee you won’t find nobody else like me …” Anybody know it? It was by Uncle Kracker or somesuch I think. I used to love the sheer audacious confidence of the lyrics.

This book, however, was neither audacious nor well, particularly romantic. I grew up on a steady dose of typical romantic novellas that I’d sneak away primarily because I’d been told not to; but thanks to all that experience this book read like a snippet of an oft-told (read, cliched) tale. There is of course, the girl meets boy, falls for him ridiculously quickly (not in love, necessarily, this is a “modern day tale”) then misunderstands him and runs away, then realises she’s being stupid and feels bad, but the guy, of course, being the smart man that he is has already forgiven her and then they date happily … OK, maybe not ever after, but you get the point.

I don’t even really see why men are required in these stories, they’re so incidental; the women seem to start and solve the trouble entirely on their own. :-/

And, oops, there I’ve told you the whole story. 😛

And even in the midst of all this there was a lot of “she opened the door, changed her clothes, put on so and so, sat on the bench with the cat and thought…” I don’t understand how, in a book that size, could there be so much repetitive routine.

On the upside however, this was my first encounter with these “Quick Read” books that true to their name are really quick to read. Though, I don’t honestly see what situation I would need a book that thin in … maybe for a bus ride or something :-/. However, since I was slightly intimidated by the numerous “fat books” I’m currently reading and really wanted something super light to read, I guess this fits the bill. Except, I wish it hadn’t been quite this light.

I’d give the book something like a 2.5.

2 thoughts on “Follow me

  1. “I don’t even really see why men are required in these stories, they’re so incidental; the women seem to start and solve the trouble entirely on their own. :-/”

    ROFL!

    Like

Hey, start a conversation! We're chatty people! :)

