Charity girl


I first made my acquaintance with Georgette Heyer during a long, idyllic summer spent in Ladakh amidst (I’m happy to say) unparalleled beauty and and an unending supply of books. And the rest, as they say, is history.

She wrote, what to my mind, would always be delightful books I would be happy to read most times.

She wrote period romances – check; the romance was not mushy enough to make you gag – check, the men, however, could easily compete with the best of them romantic heroes and if not they were still endearing; and the women always were spunky and resourceful and not always (in fact, hardly ever) were the toast of the town. And all this came neatly tied in with liberal doses of humour that, if didn’t have you laughing out loud, almost always had you smiling. And since then I’ve spent many happy hours ensconced with a Georgette Heyer.

Having said all of that, I’m sorry to report that Charity girl was a very disappointing addition to my list. It started out promisingly enough with one pleasant and chivalrous hero who set out to rescue a damsel in distress, depositing her for the meantime in the care of an old friend (a woman, obviously) who was (again, obviously) both kind and resourceful. Now, you’ll say that it’s very obvious who the hero eventually ended up with and c’mon, it’s the only thing that made any sense as the said damsel in distress turned out to be flakier than a confectionery.

And still I will tell you, dammit! it was disappointing! – as a story much less a Georgette Heyer! And so I will reluctantly give this book a 2/5, read it if you must.

P.S. – And also ‘nice lady I met at Manney’s bookstore’, in case you’re reading this, I should have listened to
you … :-/

Hey, start a conversation! We're chatty people! :)

