The (In)eligible Bachelors

A set of ten books had just come in from Flipkart. I couldn’t stop myself from going on and on about it, when my husband suggested that we should maybe just step out for some fresh air.  Just as we were window shopping in a mall, my eyes fell on a bookstore. What happened, the next minute?! I grabbed his hand and made him run with me to the store, and what a pleasant surprise. A book sale!! Yes yes, there are some of us who are happy with a book sale too, apart from clothes and shoes!

Just as I had finished browsing through racks of books, my eyes fell on The (in)eligible bachelors.  After reading through the blurb, I thought it was just another MBA/IT graduate who’s out to talk about their college love story. I put it back. The book was stuck in my head. With my impatient husband hovering over my head to know whether I was done yet or not (he just doesn’t understand my sudden obsession for books!), I finally started walking towards the payment counter. Suddenly, I ran back to pick the book and came back grinning. My husband wore an expression that meant – “Oh no! I don’t know her!

A hopeless romantic and a Bollywood fan- yes, that’s what I am. I am so glad that the book did not disappoint.  A lot of us would relate to the protagonist, Kasturi, who’s being pestered by her mother to meet the shortlisted IIT/IIM boys. Her mother thinks there is something wrong with her daughter as she did not have a boyfriend in college. Kasturi’s father too doesn’t stand a chance in front of the arranged marriage obsessed wife!

Her only escape – the job she landed in Delhi, away from home. Well, that’s what Kasturi & I thought! Unfortunately, her mother made sure she met a guy every weekend. Kasturi falls in love with her boss, Rajeev Sir, but continues to meet the boys her mother has lined up as she is sure her mother won’t accept a non-Brahmin Punjabi boy as her son-in-law.

Does she agree to marry one of the prospective grooms her mother chooses for her? Or does she gather up all her courage to tell her mother about her love? Get a copy of the book, now, to find out!

The book is in the form of diary entries and with her friends Ananya & Varun by her side, the book is a laughter riot! One of the few books, where I read every word, and sat down to write the review immediately! Err..well, I do tend to skip a few lines or sometimes pages, when it’s a drag! I would give the book a 3.5/5. Overall, FUN and a must read! 🙂

Hey, start a conversation! We're chatty people! :)

